Page One

I am not an experienced family historian.  In all honesty, I never really wanted to get involved.  I thought I had a pretty good understanding of who I am and where I came from.  That was enough for me.

Recently, however, I have experienced a shift in my focus.  I have felt, very much, as though an unseen hand has turned my head, forcing me to look more closely.  I like to think that it’s Sam. She has, I am sure, been meeting people and making connections. I’m sure she has discovered some pretty amazing things.  I imagine her–in the same way she used to tell me about a book I should read or a movie she wanted me to see–sending me a message, saying, “You have got to look at this!”  I’m looking.

I’ve been looking at names, mostly, and places and dates.  I haven’t done any complicated research.  I haven’t even looked beyond my own computer.  Even so, I have learned already that I was completely wrong before.  I actually knew nothing about who I am and where I came from.

I have also learned that information disappears very quickly.  Stories that should have been handed down for generations are not.  People who should be familiar to us aren’t.  I have decided to do something about that.

At the same time, I recognize that our story deserves to be told, too.  Even the most insignificant details may be important to our children or our grandchildren some day.  So, here’s the deal.  I’m going to make a collection of all of the details, stories, pictures and anything else I find and share it here.  My hope is that you will share your own details, stories, pictures and anything else here, too.  When we’re all done (if that’s even possible), we will have something to pass on to those who come after us.  It will be the story of who we are, where we came from and where we are going.

It will be the story of us.

3 thoughts on “Page One

  1. Good on you Rach! Maybe this will finally get Mom and Me off our lazy tails about journal writing. We cried all through the reading of your first post.

  2. I’m in. I’ve been working lately on recording the early part of sami’s life. I want her to know (when she’s old enough to understand) what this time was like for our new family.

Leave a Reply

